We Stand Up For Victims Of Domestic Violence And Take Assertive Action

The number of women killed in domestic violence assaults in Texas by their husbands, ex-husbands, intimate partners, boyfriends or ex-boyfriends is increasing, according to a 2013 report from the Texas Council on Family Violence (TCFV). The Texas Department of Public Safety reported 189,000 family violence incidents in 2012, the last year figures were available.

The numbers are in the thousands for Denton County and Collin County alone. In a frightening number of cases, the victims have children living at home. According to some numbers, 70 percent of the children in these homes were also abused.

Hitting, stalking, threats (physical and verbal) and intimidation are considered domestic violence and are criminal behaviors in the eyes of the law.

If you are being victimized by a partner, a spouse, ex-spouse or someone you were casually dating, please call the lawyers at the Law Offices of Linda Risinger right away at 972-294-6533. We can help you apply for a protective order to stop the violence.

Domestic Abuse, Violence And Getting A Protection Order

Orders of protection are granted to protect the safety of the victim, not to penalize the perpetrator. However, a final restraining order has serious sanctions for the defendant.

  • Ex parte protective order: An emergency protective order good for 21 days, which can be extended.
  • Protective order: An order issued by a civil court to prevent family violence. A protective order may also include provisions to make the abuser leave the family home, establish a visitation schedule, or order temporary spousal and child support.
  • Restraining order: A restraining order does not have the sanctions that a protective order has, and a civil motion must be filed if it's violated.

Judges and prosecutors take domestic violence and protective orders very seriously. The abuser is not allowed to harass you or make threats, either directly or through another person.

If an abuser is ordered to stay 100 yards away from your children's school, the abuser must stay away or face arrest. He or she may be charged with a class A misdemeanor or felony for each violation, depending on the severity of the violation.

Protect Your Child Now

Many women do not know that they may lose custody of their children if they continue to reside with an abusive spouse. We can help you connect with community resources, and help you file for divorce and alimony if you are ready to begin the process.

We Are Here To Help You And Protect You. Take Action Now.

Call attorney Linda Risinger at 972-294-6533, or email us directly when you are ready to get help. We are serious advocates for victims of domestic violence. Our office is located in Frisco.